Skip to content
‹ Back to IndustriesIndustrial IoT

Toyota estimates 1T yen/year for automation from 2028

Toyota told investors factory automation could cost about 1 trillion yen ($6.4 billion) a year from 2028 across Toyota, group companies and major suppliers, CNBC reported. Toyota also said it could take roughly 400,000 robots. The company has not committed to the spending or said how long it would run, CNBC reported.

This story was produced through MarketScale. See how Industrial IoT teams put it to work with AI Visibility (GEO).

By MarketScale Newsroom · · ToyotaToyota MotorFactory AutomationIndustrial Robots
Share
Listen to the audio brief

Key facts, context, and what it means.

AUDIO
0:00—
Toyota estimates 1T yen/year for automation from 2028

Key takeaways

01

1 trillion yen ($6.4 billion) per year estimated spending on factory automation starting 2028

02

About 400,000 robots needed across Toyota, group companies and major suppliers including replacements and new installations

03

Automation scope covers industrial robots, automated material handling, and future human-robot collaboration on factory floors

Free workspace

Turn your Industrial IoT expertise into content.

Record interviews, organize footage, and write with AI on a free trial of the MarketScale platform for qualifying companies. No demo required, no credit card.

Try it Free

Toyota estimates it could cost 1 trillion yen, about $6.4 billion, per year from 2028 to modernize factories across Toyota, its group companies and major suppliers, according to CNBC.

In the same discussions, Toyota said it could take roughly 400,000 robots to execute that shift across the network, a figure that includes both replacements for existing machines and new installations, and spans humanoid and non-humanoid robots, CNBC reported.

Toyota has not committed to the investment and did not specify how many years the annual spending would continue, according to CNBC.

What Toyota actually said, and what it did not

CNBC reported Toyota discussed the estimate with investors earlier this month and tied it to increased automation and robotics deployment across its manufacturing network.

Assembly Magazine, citing Reuters, added detail on what sits inside the umbrella: industrial robots, automated material handling, and future applications for collaboration between people and robots on the factory floor. The robot count would include replacements for existing equipment and new installations, and would be a mix of humanoid and non-humanoid robots, Assembly Magazine reported.

Toyota has not committed to the investment and did not specify how many years the spending would continue, according to CNBC.

Why the 400,000-robot figure lands on suppliers first

According to CNBC, Toyota said its factory-automation cost estimate covers Toyota, its group companies and major suppliers. Toyota said the automation effort spans industrial robots, automated logistics and future human-robot collaboration, but did not provide more detail on specific requirements at supplier sites.

Toyota told investors around 400,000 robots would be needed to drive factory automation across Toyota, its group companies and major suppliers, according to CNBC. The company did not describe procurement requirements, specification changes, or supplier audit criteria tied to that estimate.

According to CNBC, Toyota said the robot total includes replacements for existing machines as well as new installations. Toyota did not provide details on how it would schedule that work or how it would affect downtime and commissioning.

Humanoids are in the mix, but the work is still industrial

Toyota’s robot count includes humanoid and non-humanoid units, CNBC reported. That will grab attention, but the reported scope still reads like a classic automation stack: industrial robots plus automated logistics or material handling, plus future human-robot collaboration on the shop floor, according to CNBC and Assembly Magazine.

Toyota said its estimate includes both humanoid and non-humanoid robots, according to CNBC.

What to watch between now and 2028

According to CNBC, Toyota did not specify whether the factory-automation spending would definitely take place or how many years it would continue. The company also did not provide plant-by-plant rollout details or other implementation milestones tied to the estimate.

Reuters and CNBC described the spend and robot figures as estimates discussed with investors, not purchase orders.

Featured companies

Your experts belong here

Every story in MarketScale Industrial IoT starts with a company putting its controls engineers, plant-floor specialists, and integration partners on the record. Buyers are already reading this topic. The only question is whose experts they find.

Plant and controls buyers research deep before contact, and your engineers get to shape that research.

Book DemoSee how it works15 minutes, straight to a calendar.

About the author

MarketScale Newsroom
MarketScale NewsroomEditorial Team, MarketScale

The MarketScale Newsroom reports on the companies, technologies, and trends shaping 16 B2B industries. It turns primary sources and expert commentary into clear, useful coverage for the people doing the work.

B2B Weekly

The week in Industrial IoT, and sixteen other industries, every Monday.

Ten stories, one-line takes, five minutes. Free.

Industrial IoT: are you visible to AI?

Before they reach out, Industrial IoT buyers ask AI engines which vendors to trust. Explore how your experts, customers, and partners can become useful content for buyers and AI search.

Free Trial

You just read one Industrial IoT expert. Your company is full of them.

This article was produced through MarketScale. The same platform turns your controls engineers, plant-floor specialists, and integration partners into the articles, video, and social content Industrial IoT buyers are searching for. Start a free trial and see it with your own people. For qualifying companies, no credit card, no demo required.

NPS +73 · 1,000+ creators · 38+ countries

What your free trial includes

Hands-on access to the MarketScale platform
Media requests to your crowd, remote recording, AI writing tools
No demo required. No credit card.
For qualifying companies. Company confirmation required.

More Industrial IoT Insights

Rugged computers grow 5.8% a year, slower than the industrial IoT around them

Rugged computers grow 5.8% a year, slower than the industrial IoT around them

IndexBox's new forecast puts rugged computers at $6.8 billion in 2026, growing 5.8% a year to $11.3 billion by 2035. Industrial IoT forecasts run faster. Their growth estimates range from 8.16% to 16.8% a year, which points field-device buyers toward connectivity, software and services as the faster-growing part of the spend.

  • 01Rugged computer forecasts of 5.4% and 5.8% trail the 8.16% to 16.8% projected for industrial IoT, pointing to faster growth in solutions and services than in devices.
  • 02Market-size estimates disagree far more than growth rates do: one firm's 2032 rugged forecast of $5.57 billion is below another's 2026 figure of $6.8 billion, so device budgets can benchmark growth rates and treat total size as background.
  • 03Connectivity, including 5G and satellite links, is moving onto the rugged spec sheet next to durability as demand shifts toward connected, real-time data capture in the field.

Oct 16, 2026

Case picking automation fails when nobody schedules the human

Case picking automation fails when nobody schedules the human

Vecna Robotics' CaseFlow system orchestrates both robots and human workers, emphasizing synchronized scheduling to address case picking inefficiencies. Zone-based dispatch prevents robot congestion, and Robotics 24/7 reported in October 2026 a two times throughput gain and up to 90% less worker travel at a GEODIS site.

  • 01Vecna reported a two times throughput gain and up to 90% less worker travel at a GEODIS deployment, Robotics 24/7 wrote in October 2026.
  • 02Vecna says on its site that CaseFlow reads demand from the WMS in real time, which is what turns a robot platform into a case picking workflow.
  • 03Prime Robotics says on its own site that goods-to-person lifts productivity up to six times; Vecna says on its site it delivers two times or more with no fixed infrastructure and deployment in four weeks or less.

Oct 15, 2026

A3's final mobile robot safety standard is written for the sites running the robots

A3's final mobile robot safety standard is written for the sites running the robots

ANSI/A3 R15.08-3-2026 is now available from A3. It completes the three-part R15.08 series for industrial mobile robot (IMR) safety. Part 3 is written for the sites that run the robots. It covers risk assessment, management of change, employee training and periodic reviews and inspections, so safety work continues in day-to-day operation after deployment.

  • 01The robot maker documents the environment a mobile robot was built for, and Part 3 makes the operating site responsible for managing changes to the environment the robot actually works in.
  • 02Part 1 was reaffirmed in 2026 with no technical changes, while Part 3 spells out what users must do to operate IMR applications safely.
  • 03Sites running fixed cells and mobile robots may use one safety program, because R15.08-3 was written alongside R15.06 Part 3.

Oct 11, 2026

Explore More Industrial IoT Insights

Read more expert perspectives from across Industrial IoT.

Browse Industrial IoT Hub

About the Expert

MarketScale Newsroom
MarketScale Newsroom

Editorial Team

MarketScale

The MarketScale Newsroom reports on the companies, technologies, and trends shaping 16 B2B industries. It turns primary sources and expert commentary into clear, useful coverage for the people doing the work.

For B2B teams

Your experts could be publishing here

Stories like this one run on content MarketScale captures from real practitioners. See how your team's expertise becomes coverage in Industrial IoT and beyond.

Book a Demo

Or call us. No forms required. We pick up. 214-945-2512